SUGRAMA – Grama Panchayat Chunayitha Mahila Prathinidhigala Sangha – Karnataka mobilizes Grama Panchayat elected women representatives towards self-reliant action, empowering women as key change agents and engages with local government in bringing positive change through collective action and advocacy.

SUGRAMA at a glance:

Formed in 2010, SUGRAMA completed its first full five year tenure between 2010 and 2015 and is currently in its second tenure. Apropos to the elections conducted to Grama Panchayats in 2015, the new body of taluk level and state level federation was constituted with the smooth transfer of powers from the earlier members to the new incumbents in 2016. With the new board being in place, SUGRAMA aspires to continue its efforts in bringing in positive change thereby look at just and equitable society.


Several advocacy efforts of SUGRAMA members reaped in good results in bringing in policy changes as below:
  • 50% reservation to women: The constant advocacy efforts of SUGRAMA during 2009 and 2010 yielded the passing of 50% reservation to women which came into force in 2015 elections.
  • 5 year tenure to President/Vice President: SUGRAMA undertook advocacy during 2010-2014 to increase the tenure of the President and Vice President from 30 months to five years After due deliberations with the Government and number of press meets, the Ramesh Kumar headed committee set up by the Government also put forth its recommendations to increase the tenure. Accordingly, the Government brought in a change to Section 46 of the Karnataka Panchayat Raj by amending the act – Karnataka Grama Swaraj and Panchayat Raj Act, 2015.
  • Rotation of reservation of seats to 10 years: The discussions and deliberations with the Government ensured in the Government bringing in an amendment to this effect.
  • Mahila Grama Sabha: Following the discussions and submission of memorandum in the SAMAVESHA held in 2014 and the Minister’s reflections at the SAMAVESHA, SUGRAMA was successful in ensuring the passing of a circular to this effect.
  • Increasing honorarium: Following regular advocacy efforts between 2010 and 2017, the Government increased the honorarium twice in succession and currently stands at Rs. 1000 Rs. 1000/-, Rs. 2000/- and Rs. 3000/- respectively for members, Vice President and President.

Our Outreach:

  • 11 Districts
  • 25 Taluks